Sigma Xi at Williams

The Williams College Sigma Xi Chapter has played an active role on the Williams Campus since it was founded as the Sigma Xi Club in 1969. Sigma Xi is a national society honoring and encouraging research in science since 1886. Professor Jay M. Pasachoff of the Astronomy Department, President, and Professor Lois Banta of the Biology Department, Secretary/Treasurer are currently serving as our chapter’s officers. Two public lectures are held each year highlighting current research of a Williams faculty member (see this page for a list of recent Sigma Xi speakers). One of the primary purposes of Sigma Xi is to recognize graduating science students who have demonstrated exceptional ability and promise for further contributions to the advancement of scientific research. Election as an associate member in Sigma Xi is a distinct honor, accorded to only a few of the graduating seniors from science departments at colleges and universities across the country that plan to continue in scientific research. At Williams, these students are inducted into the society at a ceremony during commencement weekend.



2022 Williams College Sigma Xi Associate Members


Peter F. Knowlton


Nicole Marie Alvarez

Chloe M. Heiting

Patrick R. Hodgson

Mikayla K. Kappes

Minjun Kim

Georgia L. McClain

Sofia Neaher

Irfa A. Qureshi

Marlon Stanfield-Pazmiño

Aaron Stanton


Jayalakshmi N. Alagar

William Jeremy Bock

Siri H. Bohacek

Olivia I. Graceffa

Maya I. Huffman

Amy Lam

Sonya Somin Lee

Abigail Matheny

Marcelo A. Mazariego

Odysseas A. Morgan

Christiana Park

María Román

Ben Telicki

Harrison Toll

Kathryn Alice Wright

Marika Eden Massey-Bierman (Chemistry/Environmental Science)

Computer Science

Madeline Burbage

Carson E. Kurtz

Paul W. Lapey II

Catherine Yeh


Hannah H. Jackson

Roman D. Ruiz


Wael Baalbaki

Benjamin Baily

Veronica Berger

Aidan Dunkelberg

Irfan Durmić

Daniel Gonzalez, Jr.

Brian Ha

Liza J. Jacoby

William Johnson

Jason Meintjes

Isaac Mijares

Clayton Moses Mizgerd

Alicia Gabrielle Smith Reina

Olivia J. Straw

Lucas E. Tolley

Isaac Weissman

Stephen D. Willis


Nat Davidson

Elle M. Fietsam

Victoria Saltz


Adam Dionne

Charlotte Gale Jones

Jihoon Kim

Woody Martineau

Filip Marcin Niewinski

Tim Saffold

Caroline Daniels Tally

Yiqiu (Benny) Weng

William Zhang


Ginger D. Atwood

Galen P. Cassidy

Gabriela Jolie Gamez

Nigel Jaffe

Hanna A. Morgan

Anjali Duggal Poe

Naer (Erica) Qin


Joe LaRocca

Jihong Lee